ULM logo
College of Health & Pharmaceutical Sciences
Health Studies

Post-Baccalaureate Certification Opportunities

Below are certifications opportunities for Health Studies graduates.  Most of these certifications require a bachelor’s degree in the healthcare area, certification examination and some work experience post-graduation.

CPHIMS: Certified Professional in Healthcare Information and Management Systems

Certified Professional in Healthcare Information and Management Systems (CPHIMS) is a professional certification program for healthcare information and management systems professionals.  CPHIMS is well recognized in the industry and is an international certification.  The CPHIMS demonstrates to employers that you have committed to facilitating the improvement of clinical and business practices using technology to support information management in and across healthcare settings. 

FACHE: Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives

The Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives (FACHE) say that when you become board certified in healthcare management as an ACHE Fellow (FACHE), you will have the knowledge, skills and confidence to succeed. This is not focused on information management or technology but healthcare administration.  If your aspirations extend beyond IT, into operations, finance or even more senior leadership, however, this is probably a credential worth pursuing.  The ACHE and their Fellowship is recognized by leadership across all management within healthcare.

CHCIO: Certified Healthcare Chief Information Officer

The Certified Healthcare CIO (CHCIO): is probably the newest healthcare specific certification and is the first program exclusively for CIOs and IT executives in the healthcare industry. A CHCIO demonstrates the commitment, knowledge, and experience required to master the core skills inherent to successful CIOs and IT executives. 

HIT Pro: Health Information Technology Professional

The Health Information Technology Professional (HIT Pro)  is actually a competency exam, rather than a certification and it offers professionals an opportunity to capitalize on new technologies, procedures and launch new careers.  There are six separate HIT Pro exams, each of which pertains to a specific HIT workforce role instrumental in the process of achieving meaningful use of Electronic Health Record (EHR) systems.  The six exams are:  1) Clinician/Practitioner Consultant; 2) Implementation Manager; 3) Implementation Support Specialist; 4) Practice Workflow & Information Management Redesign Specialist; 5) Technical/Software Support Staff; and 6) Trainer.  HIT Pro is the competency examination of the US Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) Workforce Development program.  It is part of the federal government's effort to facilitate EHR.

CPHM: Certified Professional in Healthcare Management

Certified Professional in Healthcare Management (CPHM) educates healthcare professionals on the value, challenges, history, legal aspects and recent trends in healthcare management. It addresses the growing responsibilities of care managers in the healthcare industry from both the payer and provider viewpoints.

The comprehensive CPHM program covers recent trends in the healthcare industry, and delivers valuable insights into:

CPHQ – Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality Certification

The CPHQ incorporates the body of knowledge in the healthcare quality profession, which includes: