ULM logo
April 12-13, 2013
ULS Academic Summit

Keynote Speakers


Lorilee R. SandmannDr. Lorilee R. Sandmann

Dr. Sandmann is a professor of Adult Education, Learning and Organization Development at the University of Georgia, is recognized as a national leader in the scholarship of engagement.

Her current research projects focus on leadership and organizational change in higher education’s institutionalization of community engagement, as well as faculty roles and rewards related to engaged scholarship.

Based on her research, she and her students have published widely on the scholarship of engagement; her latest book is Institutionalizing Community Engagement in Higher Education: The First Wave of Carnegie Classified Institutions.

Further, Sandmann was instrumental in developing and leading Virginia Tech’s International Engagement Academy for University Leaders. She is also a lead faculty member for Michigan State University’s Emerging and Engaged Scholars Program.

Sandmann chairs UGA’s Adult Education Program, is Associate Faculty/Fellow at Virginia Tech’s Center for Organizational and Technological Advancement, and is on the National Advisory Panel for Community Engagement of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.


Iain CrawfordDr. Iain Crawford

Dr. Crawford is an associate professor of English at the University of Delaware. He will be the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) representative and will lead the faculty development workshop on expanding undergraduate research across disciplines.

Dr. Crawford came highly recommended by CUR Executive Director Beth Ambos for his national work in the arts and humanities.  In November 2012 he hosted a CUR workshop on his campus for teams of faculty and administrators to develop undergraduate research, scholarship, and creativity in the arts and humanities.


Crawford is a native of the United Kingdom and received his BAdegree with first class honors in English and Greek Civilization from the University of Leeds.

After teaching in Finland for a year, he began graduate work in English at the University of Leicester, and he completed his dissertation on the narrative technique of Charles Dickens while teaching at the University of Osijek in the former Yugoslavia.

He came to the United States in 1984 as a Visiting Assistant Professor at the University of Alabama and has since held a variety of faculty and administrative positions.

In 2003 he was appointed Vice President for Academic Affairs at the College of Wooster. Following a year as Senior Fellow at AAC&U he joined the Department of English at the University of Delaware in 2010, where he has just completed a seventeen-month term as Acting Chair.


Dr. Crawford became a Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) Councilor in 2006, joining the At-Large Division, and subsequently became one of the founding members of the Arts and Humanities Division, which he currently chairs. Together with colleagues at Wooster, he has contributed essays to

CUR Quarterly and to Creative Inquiry in the Arts & Humanities: Models of Undergraduate Research. With Jenny Shanahan, he established and coordinated the first CURInstitute on Creative Inquiry in the Arts and Humanities.

Together with Sarah Orel and Jenny Shanahan, he is currently editing a CURguide to developing discipline-specific URSCprograms in the arts and humanities.


Ann FindleyDr. Ann Findley

Dr. Findley received her Ph.D. in Physiology with a minor in Microbiology from Louisiana State University in 1980.

She taught biology and chemistry at the beginning undergraduate through graduate level at LSU, New York University, and Henderson State University before joining the faculty at the University of Louisiana at Monroe in 1995.

She has received external funding for teaching and research enhancement from the Board of Regents Support Fund (BORSF), National Science Foundation (NSF), and Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) to support the development of anatomy & physiology, molecular biology, and genomics core facilities at ULM.

She currently serves as the Program Director for the ULM-HHMIBiological Sciences Education Program and is coordinator of the HHMIand National Institutes of Health-Inbre supported SEAPhage Hunters Program for entering freshman biology majors.