THE UNIVERSITY OF LOUISIANA AT MONROE

University Electronic Learning Committee August 14, 2006

Members Present: R. Jones (Chair), P. Thornhill, A. Tan, M. Beutner, P. Wiedemeier, M. Camille, J. Guernsey-Shaw, R. Hanser, G. Eller, B. Smith, D. Glaze, T. Sivakumaran, C. Berry

Members Absent: C. Berry (excused), S. Choo (excused), D. Williams (excused)

This meeting was called to order by committee chair Dr. Rhonda Jones on Monday, August 14, 2006 at 10:00 in Library 643. The following items were discussed.

Item 1 – Programs/Initiatives for 2006-2007

The ongoing project for the year is the development of E-Learning Plans by each college. Committee members are to meet with their college administrators and faculty to determine plans and needs related to course offerings, course development, faculty abilities, and possible degree programs to be developed. Progress reports on the development of the E-Learning Plans are scheduled for the November 9, 2006 and March 20, 2007 meetings. The final version of the plan is to be posted on the UELC Blackboard site by April 23, 2007.

The committee meetings for September, October, and February will consist of Blackboard discussions. The September question will relate to the SELECT Grant Program. October will focus on improving retention rates in online classes. February's topic will be concerns and solutions relating to online learning.

Contribution to Discussion Board questions will result in members being marked "present" for the committee meetings. Members were encouraged to attend the face to face meetings scheduled for November and March.

Item 2 – Committee Evaluation Form

Dr. Jones passed out a copy of the Committee Evaluation Form that had been distributed by Dr. Richters earlier in the day. Each committee member will be evaluated at the end of the year. Criteria for evaluation are attendance at meetings, quality of work, level of work, and overall evaluation. The form is to be completed by the chair of the committee and turned in to the Provost's Office at the end of the academic year.

There being no further business, this meeting was adjourned at 11:00.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Rhonda Jones Director of Continuing Education