LAAC Organizational Meeting

Southeastern hosted an organizational meeting to form a state organization for alternative certification: The Louisiana Association for Alternative Certification (LAAC). The meeting was conducted in room 2020 of the Cate Teacher Education Center on Friday, October 22, 2004. A Board of Directors was chosen and Charter Members established this non-profit educational organization, in order to provide leadership, networking, innovation, and support for alternative certification. A charter was signed by all attendees and an application for incorporation as a non-profit organization was submitted to the Office of the Secretary of State for Louisiana and has been approved. This organization will be a free standing Louisiana organization, but is patterned after and considered a state affiliate of National Association of Alternative Certification (NAAC). Louisiana, along with Colorado and California, has each been given $1000 by the NAAC to support the development of state organizations for alternative certification.

Dr. Bill Neal from SLU was elected President, Dr. Glenda Holland from ULM was elected President Elect, Dr. Rossana Boyd from SLU ws elected Secretary, Ms. Karen Ollendike from the UNO was elected Treasure, Ms. Blanche Adams from the Louisiana Department of Education, Mr. Barry Dunlap from the Department of Education, Dr. Brenda Hanson from NSU, and Ms. Jill Lay from The New Teacher Project, were elected Members-at-Large.

The other charter members included: Dr. Diane Allen from SLU, Dr. Christine Anthony from SLU, Dr. Christopher Della-Pietra from SLU, Dr. Paul Goodwin from SLU, Ms. Meredith Hudson from The New Teacher Project, Dr. Gerald Keller from SLU, Dr. Judie Lester from SLU and Julia Tidwell-Ellington from ULM.

(c) Copyright