

STAFF SENATE MINUTES

May 17, 2023 10:00 am Library 622

	Senators: Kristal Anzalone, Chloe Beaver, James Beinkemper, Mallory Benedetto - Parliamentarian, Fernando Cordova, Therese Filhiol, Cindy Foust, Andrew Hardee – President elect, Joanna Hunter – Secretary/Treasurer, Dana Mejia, Meghan Olinger-President, Melissa Rhodes – Past President, Sarah Siereveld, Ahmaad Solmone, Nicole Walker, Sara Webb, Chris Williams New Senators: Eron Bethard, Shane Dykes, Sabrina McClain
Attendees	Visitors: Debbie Beaver, Jessica Griggs, Jennifer Huey, Steven Burnside, Myra Lovett
Excused/Absent	Greg Andrews, Jimmy Waller, Faith Wilson

Call to Order

May Staff Senate Meeting called to order by President Olinger Roll taken by Joanna Hunter Visitors welcomed by President Olinger

Approval of Minutes

Motion made by Senator Therese Filhiol to approve the Minutes of the April 2023 meeting. Seconded by Senator Kristal Anzalone.

Guest Speaker Dr. Allison Bailey

Dr. Bailey is the Director of the Faculty and Staff Development Center. The center is focused on professional learning needs. Dr. Bailey is working on priorities for staff development. Plans are being made to provide activities for staff engagement during University Week. Dr. Bailey is working with HR on a new mentoring program for new hires. Mentors will be needed to serve the program. The focus is on building a workplace culture. Senators asked the location of the center, currently on the 6th floor but hoping for an area on campus soon. Dr. Bailey has requested the old Starbucks location, but nothing is definite at this point. Concerns about communication regarding CANVAS was brought up. The current plan is to focus on moving courses first and then special groups and other areas that are currently using Moodle. There will be a discussion on whether departments should use CANVAS or TEAMS outside of actual academic courses. Staff that are also adjunct instructors are not on the Faculty ListServ and need to be as they teach in Moodle and will need to transition to CANVAS as well. Dr. Bailey asked Chloe Beaver a senator and on the CANVAS committee to gather a list of those adjunct faculty with staff classification. Dr. Bailey invited anyone to reach out to her with ideas and suggestions.

Reports of	
Committees	
Communication- None	
Handbook – None	

Staff welfare – None By-Laws – None Elections – New Business officer elections

Continuing Business

Reminder about service hours and submitting them to Joanna by end of the week.

New Business

President Olinger welcomed the new senators.

President Olinger recognized the outgoing senators with a certificate and thank you for their service.

President Olinger presented a budget for the 2022-2023 year with Staff Senate expenditures. It was noted that now a secretary/treasurer position and finance committee had been established then perhaps a plan on how to use more of the funds can be determined.

Officer Elections were held by ballot with President Olinger and Past-President Rhodes calculating the results. Dana Mejia was elected President-Elect and Chloe Beaver was elected Secretary/Treasurer. Parliamentarian will be selected by President Hardee at a later date.

Staff Onboarding and new hire orientation volunteers should reach out to President Hardee as Past-President Rhodes no longer serves on Staff Senate.

Outgoing President Olinger gave her thanks to each of the executive board members and senators.

President Olinger passed the gavel to the new Staff Senate President Andrew Hardee.

Adjournment

There being no other business, a motion to adjourn was made by Senator Mallory Benedetto and seconded by Senator Meghan Olinger. Meeting adjourned by President Hardee. The next Staff Senate meeting is TBA at 10:00 am in the Library Conference Room 622.