Archived News | Return to News Center

December 18, 2008

ULM College of Pharmacy faculty receive board certification in pharmacotherapy

Several University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy faculty members in the Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences received their board certification in pharmacotherapy in December. Drs. Christopher Betz, Jessica Brady, Courtney Brown, and Trevor Riley successfully passed a comprehensive exam administered by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties.

Pharmacotherapy is the area of pharmacy practice responsible for ensuring the safe, appropriate and economical use of drugs in patient care. The pharmacotherapy specialist has responsibility for direct patient care, often functions as a member of a multidisciplinary team and is frequently the primary source of drug information for other healthcare professionals.

“This is a true testament to the high quality of our College of Pharmacy faculty,” said Dean Lamar Pritchard.

Those who receive certification in this specialty may use the designation “Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist” and the initials “BCPS,” as long as certification is valid.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.