Archived News | Return to News Center

January 18, 2008

Oliver awarded a 2008 American Pharmacists Association National Student Leadership Award

Catherine Oliver, third-year pharmacy student at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, will be awarded a 2008 American Pharmacists Association National Student Leadership Award. Last year, only four awards were given nationally.

Established in 1983, the APhA Student Leadership Awards recognize outstanding academic achievement and leadership ability in the American Pharmacists Association – Academy of Student Pharmacists at the local, regional and national levels of students who are currently in their next to the last year of pharmacy school. The awards are endowed by Procter & Gamble Health Care.

In addition to being members of APhA-ASP in the next to the last year of graduation from an accredited school or college of pharmacy, all nominees must maintain an accumulated grade point average of 2.75 (on a 4.0 scale). The award consists of a scholarship of $1,000 and a laminated plaque to each recipient, presented at the APhA-ASP Awards Ceremony during the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition March 14 – 17 in San Diego.

Oliver, of Monroe, has been instrumental in raising the impact of ASP through its patient care projects projects according to Dr. Edwin Adams, director of Student and Professional Affairs for the ULM College of Pharmacy.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.