Archived News | Return to News Center

January 18, 2008

Smith named 2008 APhA Good Government Student Pharmacist of the Year

Ashley Smith, fourth-year pharmacy student at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, was notified by the American Pharmacists Association Board of Governors that she was named the 2008 APhA Good Government Student Pharmacist of the Year.

Smith, of Monroe, will be presented with the award at both the Professional Advisory Committee Board of Governors breakfast, where she will address the audience, and at the American Pharmacists Association – Academy of Student Pharmacists Awards Ceremony, both to be held on Monday, March 17 in San Diego.

The award, established in 2004, recognizes a student pharmacist who successfully organizes related grassroots activity within their chapter and actively promotes the value of advocating for the profession. The honor is based on the student's ability to raise awareness of local and national pharmacy issues while embracing the concept of teamwork and collaboration among students, practitioners, and their state pharmacy association.

Nominees must be active members of APhA-ASP and a state pharmacy association. The nominees' activities must have raised student pharmacists' awareness of current state and federal issues and made a positive impact on the pharmacy profession.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.