Archived News | Return to News Center

July 24, 2008

ULM’s Rad Tech Department wins honors at annual convention

ULM Radiologic Technology Department faculty and students attended the 51st Annual Meeting of the Louisiana Society of Radiologic Technologists in New Orleans July 16 – 19, and returned with honors.

Students and faculty were involved in continuing education lectures throughout the convention.

Brett Bennett, RADT program director, was elected the LSRT recording secretary and will serve on the LSRT Executive Board for 2008-2009. He has served as Louisiana Educators in Radiologic Sciences chair for the past year, and will serve as LSRT Membership Task Force chair for the upcoming year. In addition to his service to the society, he also presented “Preventing the Common Mistakes in CR and DR” for the continuing education program, and served as judge for the Student Quiz Bowl Competition.

Jaclyn Peters, an instructor in the radiologic technology department, praised her colleague. “We are very proud of him for obtaining such a distinguished honor.”

Andy Allen, RADT clinical coordinator, was elected LERS chair for 2008-2009. LERS serves to promote the quality of Radiologic Technology programs and enhance the knowledge of the R.T. educators throughout the state, and acts as a liaison for the LSRT Student Council. Allen has served as LERS vice chair for the past year. In addition to his role in the society, he presented “Radiology Online” for the continuing education program and LERS Council, and served as a judge and scorekeeper for the Student Quiz Bowl Competition.

ULM radiologic technology students participated in the LSRT Student Quiz Bowl competition. Quiz Bowl members included:

First Team - Chris Henry (a senior from Quitman), Kira Holdiness (a senior from Vicksburg, Miss.), and Samantha Staiger (a senior from Germantown, Ohio)

Second Team - Mallory Aulds (a senior from West Monroe), Jenny Henderson (a senior from Olla), and Rakesh Karn (a senior from Nepal); and Team Coach Andy Allen.

All students in the RADT program participated in competitions by submitting scientific essays or scientific exhibits. Pat LeBeau (a senior from Monroe), Chris Fleming (a senior from Springhill), and Dani McMurray (a senior from Chase) placed second with their scientific essay titled “Ray of Hope.”

Allen expressed his pride in the ULM RADT students. “Congratulations to all for participating and representing our university as knowledgeable student technologists and for all of the hard work in preparing for the competition.”

Peters agreed. “The faculty is proud of all of our students for their participation and professionalism displayed at the annual convention.”

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.