Archived News | Return to News Center

June 13, 2008

ULM Alpha Lambda Delta chapter releases list of 2008 – 2009 initiates

Alpha Lambda Delta at the University of Louisiana at Monroe recently announced its 2008 – 2009 initiates.

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national society for freshman who maintain the high academic achievement of at least a 3.5 GPA during their first semester of college. Alpha Lambda Delta was established in 1924; the ULM chapter began in 1955. Since then, it has won the “Order of the Torch” (the highest recognition award from the national Alpha Lambda Delta organization) three times and the “Maintaining the Flame” award three times as well.

Laura Lacey Hales, current president of the ULM Alpha Lambda Delta chapter, stated the organization’s purpose. “We continue to uphold these high standards and promote excellence.”

Chapter traditions include the annual Smarty Party and Favorite Professors Wine and Cheese Reception. They also participate in local community service, such as the Salvation Army ringing of the bells, Habitat for Humanity, Adopt-A-Spot, Up 'Til Dawn, the Cerebral Palsy Telethon, and volunteer opportunities at Sallie Humble Elementary School.

Officers for the 2008-2009 school year are:

• Hales of Archibald, president
• Kristin Frankhouser of Baton Rouge, vice president
• Katie Collins of Rayville, secretary
• Cortney Jackson of Athens, treasurer
• John Laing of Bastrop, communications – internal
• Courtney Stacey Thomas of Monroe, communications – external
• Paul Caliste of Destrehan, chaplain/historian
• Beth Collins of Rayville, parliamentarian
• Heather Hinton of Delhi, Webmaster

Initiates for the 2008-2009 school year are:

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.