Archived News | Return to News Center

March 7, 2008

Sutherlin elected president of Louisiana Political Science Association

Dr. John W. Sutherlin, University of Louisiana at Monroe assistant professor of political science, was elected president of the Louisiana Political Science Association at their annual conference Feb. 8 – 9, held at ULM for the first time since the association’s founding.

Sutherlin stated, "I was very proud that ULM could sponsor the event. Due to help from students, like Dale Willson, and other faculty, like Kevin Unter, we were able to have one of the best conferences ever."

Sutherlin had served last year as the organization's vice-president and performed as secretary-treasurer for seven years. As vice-president, he was responsible for organizing and planning the LPSA Conference. Sutherlin is only the second person to ever serve in all of the executive positions for the LPSA.

The LPSA is the state association of political scientists in Louisiana. It was founded in 1972. Its main function has been to hold annual meetings that give political scientists across the state the chance to present current research, and afford graduate and undergraduate students an opportunity to sharpen their research and writing skills.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.