Archived News | Return to News Center

August 26, 2011

ULM President Nick J. Bruno joins elite Committee of 100

University of Louisiana at Monroe President Nick J. Bruno understands the value of higher education to a region's economic growth, so he was pleased and honored by the invitation to become a member of the Committee of 100, an elite organization comprised of university executives from around the state.

The private, non-profit and non-partisan organization was created in 1992 to provide leadership and resources for positive change in state government, the economy and education. Other university presidential appointments include Louisiana Tech University President Dan Reneau, LSU Chancellor Michael Martin, LSU System President John Lombardi, University of Louisiana at Lafayette President Jo Savoie, Tulane University President Scott Cowen, Phillip Williams of McNeese State, LSU AgCenter Chancellor William Richardson and John Crain of Southeastern Louisiana University.

"The Committee of 100 provides an excellent sounding board and strong advocacy for all of Louisiana higher education," said Bruno. "I am excited to contribute to such an excellent organization."

"Dr. Bruno adds leadership and decision-making ability to our organization as we strive to assist in the business and economic development activities in Louisiana," said Michael Olivier, the committee's chief executive.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.