Archived News | Return to News Center

October 17, 2011

ULM Water Ski Team wins 23rd national title

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Water Ski Team has done it again, securing their 23rd national championship title at the 33rd Collegiate Water Ski National Championships Oct. 13-15 at Tri-Lakes in Zachary.

According to, the Warhawks tallied 11,865.0 points in winning their national title. The University of Louisiana at Lafayette finished second, scoring 10,905.0 points.

The competition included 12 of the nation’s top teams in Division 1 and 10 teams in Division 2. National team champions were declared in both divisions.

Individual medals for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes' placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events.

ULM’s Tyler Scott of Covington won an individual national title for men's slalom (1 buoy at 39-1/2 feet off) in Division I.

ULM’s Zack Worden of Deltona, Fla., won the national title for men's jumping (194 feet) and overall (1,640.0 points). Worden's individual jumping distance is a pending National Collegiate Water Ski Association national record.

If approved by the NCWSA, Worden's mark will surpass the record of 193 feet set by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette's Ryan Fitts at the 1999 Collegiate Nationals.

Treina Landrum, ULM Water Ski Team coach and director of Recreational Services, expressed the team’s appreciation for their fans.

"The 2011 NCWSA National Championship Tournament was especially memorable. We received tremendous support from our current students, administration, alumni, and student families.

“The event was held in Zachary at Bennett's Ski School, sponsored by Jay Bennett, a ULM Water Ski Team alumnus. We had the largest ULM parent group I have ever seen attend the tournament. Parents came from England, Spain, Canada, and all over the United States to see their kids compete.  

"We are proud to represent ULM and return with another National Championship title. Our skiers have had a great season, they work very hard, are highly motivated, and enjoy a close, highly cohesive team. Their skiing was excellent, sportsmanship exemplary and pride in their university evident at all times. I'm extremely proud of them, and Heather Raley, assistant ULM Water Ski Team coach, and I are honored to have the opportunity to work with them. "

A highlight for the skiers was ULM President Nick J. Bruno's attendance at the tournament.

The Division 1 field was comprised of ULM; the University of Louisiana at Lafayette; the University of Alabama; Arizona State University; California Polytechnic State University; the University of Cincinnati; the University of California, Davis; Florida Southern College; Ohio State University; Rollins College; Texas A&M University; and the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

More about the ULM Water Ski Team:

The ULM Water Ski Team competes in the National Collegiate Water Ski Association South Central Region.

Members of the ULM Water Ski Team are:

Women's Team
• Jenny Benjamin of London, England
• Eleanor Benjamin of London, England
• Silki DeLacy of Hamilton, New Zealand
• Emily Darwin of Bossier City
• Carli Guyer of Pierson, Fla.
• Maddison McCammon of Clermont, Fla.
• Janice Stevens of Morrisburg, Ontario, Canada
• Nikki Waitt of Clermont, Fla.

Men's Team
• Jake Bridges of Ireland
• James Earl of Solihul, England
• Claudio Koestenberger of Sattendorf, Austria
• Will Oliver of Hull, England
• Adam Pickos of Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
• Tyler Scott of Covington
• Michael Stevenson of Gilbert, Arizona
• Matthew Weninger of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
• Zack Worden of Deltona, Fla.

For information about the ULM Water Ski Team, contact Landrum at 318-342-5313 or or visit the team’s Web site at

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.