Archived News | Return to News Center

April 27, 2012

ULM agribusiness students and faculty attend conference of national honor society; elected to positions

Students and faculty from the University of Louisiana at Monroe's Agribusiness Program in the College of Business attended the annual National Convention of Delta Tau Alpha in Warrensburg, Mo., April 5-7.

DTA, a national honor society for students in agricultural programs, stands for Dedicated to Agriculture.

Students Chanel Ingram and Cody Parker of Winnsboro; Jordan McMillon of Eros; John Nolan and Colby Mulhearn of West Monroe; Hunter Alberez of Pioneer, and Alan Haynes of Bastrop, were accompanied by Dr. James Casey, faculty chair of agribusiness.

Parker was the ULM voting delegate, and McMillon, Nolan, and Ingram competed in the annual quiz bowl where they won in the initial round but were ultimately eliminated in the quarterfinals.

Ingram was elected to the National Council as the 2012-13 Southern Region vice president for DTA, and Casey was re-elected for a second term as the DTA national executive treasurer.

Ingram's election marks the first time a ULM student has held an office on the National Council.

ULM will host the 2013 National DTA Convention in March 2013.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.