Archived News | Return to News Center

March 23, 2012

ULM Honors Program students present at Louisiana Collegiate Honors Council conference

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Honors Program attended the annual meeting of the Louisiana Collegiate Honors Council at Nicholls State University in Thibodaux from March 16-17.

Four honors students, Rachel Hornsby (an elementary education major from Bossier City), Jason Weimar (a history major from Shreveport), Taylor Diaz (an English major from Dry Prong), and Britney Dyer (a pharmacy major from Monroe) presented papers based on research conducted at ULM.

Dr. Joshua Stockley, assistant professor of political science, and director of the ULM Honors Program, accompanied the students.

Hornsby presented a paper titled "The Evolution of Education: The effects of societal demands on the country's educational system."

Her paper focused on significant requirements that have been imposed upon public education in recent years as a response to public and governmental demands for accountability and standardization.

Diaz presented a paper fusing philosophy with popular culture, demonstrating how the television sitcom "Big Bang Theory" exemplifies Hobbes' concept of laughter as "sudden glory."

Her paper was titled, "Bazinga!: The Hilarious Hobbesian World of The Big Bang Theory."

Weimar's paper, "Augustine on Original Sin against the Pelagian Heresies," focused on Pelagian's challenge to Augustine's formulation of original sin and the response by the Catholic Church to reconcile the Pelagian heresies.

Dyer presented a paper titled "Pharmacists and Prescriptive Authority."

She discussed the justifications and the ramifications for pharmacists receiving prescriptive authority through a comparative analysis of pharmacy curriculums and physicians-pharmacist collaborations across the nation.

ULM honors student Jesse Lee, a mathematics major from Springhill, was elected to represent ULM on the Student Executive Council and was chosen by this council to revise the LCHC brand and to assist in increasing LCHC's visibility among Louisiana's campuses.

Attending the conference were hundreds of honors students from colleges and universities across Louisiana.

In all, 13 students represented ULM, including Justice Law, Alexandra Babin, Vernon Bush, Amanda Scott, Bria Pierre, Ryan Byrd, Jenae' Clay, and Similoluwa Ogundare.

"I am extremely proud of how well-represented and how well-prepared ULM students were at LCHC," said Stockley.

"Jesse being selected to revise the LCHC brand speaks volumes of ULM's reputation within the state and embodies the leadership displayed by our honor students. LCHC is a valuable opportunity for honor students to network, to present ideas, to exchange ideas, and to prepare themselves for a successful career after graduation from ULM."

The Louisiana Collegiate Honors Council is an association of honors program directors and students from universities and colleges across the state.

Students present papers and posters showcasing their own work and research, discuss specific issues related to the furtherance of successful honors programs, and compete in a Quiz Bowl competition.

About the ULM Honors Program
The ULM Honors Program is a unique program within ULM that seeks intellectually curious students who desire to challenge themselves with new ideas and to work with similarly motivated students.

The program is open to all majors in all colleges and offers various options while working within a degree program.

Honors students are exposed to more in-depth topics and work closely with faculty though a specially designed honors-only curriculum.

For more information about the Honors Program contact Stockley at or 318-342-3216 or visit

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.