Archived News | Return to News Center

May 4, 2012

ULM computer science students compete in annual programming contest

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Computer Science department held its annual ACM/IEEE programming contest on Friday, April 27.

Sixteen computer science majors competed in the three-hour competition.

According to Dr. Jose Cordova, faculty chair of computer science, "students are given a set of problems to solve using the Java computer programming language. The objective is to solve the most problems in the least amount of time."

The top three contestants in the senior division were Paul Boquet from Winnsboro, Josh Williams from Monroe and Aaron Miyahira from West Monroe.

The top three students in the junior division were Lauren Chandler from Bossier City, Dillon Jones from West Monroe, and Kyle McVay from Colfax.

Prizes, including gift cards and USB keys, were donated by four computer science alumni: Jason Dycus, Dustin Oliveaux, Nikki Simmons, and Steven Walker.

The winners of the contest will travel next semester to compete in a regional contest.

PLEASE NOTE: Some links and e-mail addresses in these archived news stories may no longer work, and some content may include events which are no longer relevent, or reference individuals and/or organizations no longer associated with ULM.