ULM logo
ULM College of Arts, Education, and Sciences convocation honors students and faculty

Published May 02, 2014

The University of Louisiana at Monroe’s College of Arts, Education, and Sciences (CAES), recently held its annual convocation honoring students, faculty, and staff within the college.


The honorees were chosen as some of the top students and faculty in their schools, and within various concentrations. Each student was presented with a certificate.

“It is so exciting to have our first convocation as a united College or Arts, Education, and Sciences,” said Dr. Sandi Lemoine, dean of the college. “Our recent academic restructure has provided an immense opportunity for growth. I am very proud of the great efforts of our faculty, staff, and students as together they continue to accomplish outstanding achievements.”

Outstanding Faculty and Staff:

Teaching award: Dr. Emad El-Giar, associate professor of chemistry
Service award: Dr. Kim Marie Tolson, professor of biology
Research award: Dr. Joydeep Bhattacharjee, associate professor of biology
Creative/Artistic Activity award: Dr. Deborah Chandler, associate professor of music
Classified Staff award: Barbara Pugh for the School of Education
Unclassified Staff award: Debra Lindley for the School of Visual and Performing Arts
Dean’s award: Dr. Mary Adams, associate professor of English









Richard Hayes and Dr. Helen Lock were honored as retired or retiring faculty.

Who’s Who:

The college also honored its “Who’s Who.” The students recognized as the CAES “Who’s Who” are Makeva Armant of Pearl, Miss., Dylan Crowell of Metairie, Maria Garcia of San Tan Valley, Ariz., McKenna Giovingo of Monroe, Jack Jones of West Monroe, Jenna Lee of DeRidder, Betsy Lowe of Winnsboro, Megan Richters of Monroe, Jana Robinson of Monroe, Amanda Scott of Delhi, Tyler Scott of Bossier City, Garrett Wilkerson of West Monroe, and Brittany Wilson of Monroe.

School of Education:

Within the School of Education, the college honored the following students in elementary education: Bonnie Bray of West Monroe, Aisling Carbery-Shaha of DeRidder, Whitney Cascio of Monroe, Rachel Clark of Winnsboro, Susan Pratt of Rayville, Alyssa Martin of Delhi, Holli Moreau of Mansura, Devan Oetgen of Monroe, Diane Strozewski of Tallulah, and Alyssa Wooden of Mesa, Ariz.

Jessica Johnson of Monroe was honored as the secondary education outstanding student.

Jessica Lyons of Monroe was named the outstanding student in student teaching.

Megan Oliveaux of Columbia, Holli Moreau of Mansura, and Rachel Clark of Winnsboro were honored as Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana.

Educational leadership honorees are, Kara Clowers of Calhoun, Alvin Fields of West Monroe, and Lindsay Herr of Alexandria.
Lauren Brownell of Wolfforth, Texas and Robyn Smith of Jena were the honorees for educational technology.

In special education, Jacklyn Hearne of West Monroe, Jessica Lyons of Monroe, and Krystal Wright of Delhi were honored as outstanding students.

The STAR intern award went to Kara Hawkins of West Monroe and Ruby Martien of Rayville.

Jessica Richardson of Sterlington, Brittany Taraba of Swartz, Jean Taraba of Swartz, and Diane Strozewski of Tallulah received the Kappa Delta Pi education majors’ honors society awards.

School of Humanities:

In the School of Humanities, Stacy Reppond of Shreveport was honored in communication and French, and Michael Johnson of Maumelle, Ark., was honored in history. Jillian Allbritton of Slidell, Rachel Maddox of Rayville, and Brittany Wilson of Bastrop were honored in English.

School of Sciences:

The School of Sciences Lynn LeBlanc AMS Student Achievement Award was given to Jared Marquis of Houston, Texas.

Clinton Branton of Bernice, Maria Garcia of San Tan Valley, Ariz., Gabrialle Gonzalez of Lake Charles, Jenna Lee of DeRidder, Trapper Munn of Oak Grove, Amanda Scott of Delhi, and Tyler Scott of Covington were the outstanding students in biology.

Atmospheric science students honored were Daniel Graves of Hammond and Anthony Viramontez of Benton.
Abby Herman of Monroe and Heather Simmons of Monroe were honored as outstanding students in math.

School of Visual and Performing Arts:

The School of Visual and Performing Arts named its outstanding students. They were Mark Alba of Mesquite, Texas, Allison Friloux of Destrehan, McKenna Giovigno of Monroe, Claire Givens of West Monroe, Betsy Lowe of Winnsboro, Amy Matherne of Monroe, Tyler McGaugh of Monroe, and Nathaniel Medlin of Downsville.

Ben Bennett of Oak Grove, Megan Dew of Bastrop, Alyssa Guidry of Leesville, William Holley of Pioneer, Sara Beth Howard of Lake Providence, and Lacy Mitcham of Monroe were named the outstanding students for art.

A special recognition was given to seniors throughout the college. Outstanding seniors in the college are as follows:

School of Education:

Kelsey Glover of West Monroe
Elizabeth Cooley of Monroe

School of Humanities:

Iesha Tramble of Monroe
Landius Alexander of Shreveport
Jairl Grant of West Monroe
Travis Hutchins of Winnfield
Rebekah Barnes of Dry Prong
Robert Wofford of Monroe
Makeva Armant of Pearl, Miss.

School of Sciences:

Megan Richters of Monroe
Jared Marquis of Houston, Texas
Maya Rucks of Sterlington

School of Visual and Performing Arts:
Colin Crawford of West Monroe
Victoria J. Smith of West Monroe