ULM logo
ULM Spring 2018 Commencement is Saturday, May 12

Published May 10, 2017

Extra seating at Bayou Pointe Saturday for ULM graduation

The University of Louisiana Monroe’s Spring 2018 Commencement Ceremony is 10 a.m., Saturday, May 12, in Fant-Ewing Coliseum.

President Nick J. Bruno will present the graduates with their degrees from ULM’s three colleges and graduate school. ULM Photo Services


Special guest speaker will be Louisiana Second Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Milton D. Moore III.

Due to the unprecedented number of graduates, Fant-Ewing Coliseum is expected to quickly fill. There will be 680 additional seats at Bayou Pointe where guests can watch the LIVESTREAM of the ceremony. The live stream will also be available on the ULM website, ulm.edu, for those unable to attend the ceremony.

Bayou Pointe Student Event Center

Bayou Pointe opens at 8:30 a.m. and seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. Reserving or saving of seats is not allowed.

The address is 1 Warhawk Way, the website is ulm.edu/bayoupointe and phone number is 342-1900.

For seating and guest information, visit ulm.edu/commencement-info.


Parking will be available in the green lot, Brown stadium lot, Malone stadium lot, and the grove. Lots will also be available on the west side of campus (ULM Library side) closest to Desiard Street and on Mitchell.

Northeast Drive will remain closed throughout the ceremony for disabled guest loading and unloading and VIP parking. These individuals are allowed to drop off anyone who is handicap; then park their vehicles in the designated parking lot in the triangle lot.

No parking on the grass except for parking in the Green lot and the Grove area. Also there will be no parking on the sidewalks.

Violators will be subject to vehicle tow if they are parked in these areas.

There will be a handicap loading and unloading area on the east side of the coliseum.


Guests are encouraged to remember:

  • Guest seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. Reserving seats is not allowed. All markers placed in seats in an effort save them will be removed.
  • Please find a seat upon entering the Coliseum. Standing in walkways or entryways, on stairs, or along the handrails of the upper concourse during the ceremony is not permitted.
  • Use of air horns and other noisemakers is not allowed during the commencement ceremony.
  • To ensure that every graduate's name can be heard when announced, guests are asked not to make any noise other than that of normal applause as degrees are awarded.
  • Guests are not allowed on the floor of the arena to take photographs.

For our disabled or mobility-impaired guests:

  • Disabled/infirmed seating is provided on the arena floor of Fant-Ewing Coliseum. All seating is provided on a first come, first served basis (i.e., no saving of seats or spaces).
  • Access to the arena floor is through the ramp on the east side of Fant-Ewing Coliseum. Seating passes are not provided.
  • Drivers may drop off disabled/infirmed guests on the east ramp of the Coliseum (ULM Recreational Services/Activity Center side) prior to the ceremony before parking in one of
  • the nearby parking lots. Parking passes are not provided.
  • One adult is allowed to sit with each disabled/infirmed guest on the arena floor.
  • Unless disabled, children must be seated in the upper level of the Coliseum.
  • Any service animal must be identified as such by its harness/vest, card, or other appropriate form of identification. Upon entering the Coliseum floor, the disabled guest must notify Commencement personnel of the animal's presence.
  • At the conclusion of the ceremony, all guests in the floor-level seating area are asked to allow graduates to exit the floor before moving toward the ramp exit.
About Judge D. Milton More III

A lifelong resident of Monroe, Moore attended Monroe public schools, graduating from Neville High School. He received a Bachelor of Arts in history from LSU and his Juris Doctor from LSU Law School in 1976. Prior to election to the bench in 1988, Moore practiced general civil and criminal law in Monroe. He served two terms on the Monroe City Council from 1980-88, serving as chairman from 1984-86.  

He served for over 14 years on the Fourth Judicial District Court for Ouachita and Morehouse parishes, serving as Chief Judge from 1997-98. Moore was instrumental in the establishment of the first Drug Court for the area and was its first presiding judge. He was elected without opposition to the Second Circuit Court of Appeal for a 10-year term, began serving in January 2003, and was re-elected to a second term, again without opposition, in 2012.  

Moore is a member of various professional organizations, including the American, Louisiana, Fourth District and Shreveport Bar Associations, and the American Judges Association. He was a Charter Judicial Fellow of the Louisiana Bar Foundation and served two terms on the Board of Directors. Moore served a four-year term on the Judiciary Commission of Louisiana, serving as chairman for one year.

He served on the Board of Directors of the Wellspring Alliance for Families for six years and as chairman from 2011-12.  He now serves on the Wellspring Foundation Board of Trustees. He currently serves on the board of the St. Francis Medical Center Foundation and is also a member of the Governing Board of University Health-Conway.

Moore has been married to the former Janet Little of New Orleans for over 40 years and they have two grown sons, William and Douglas, and two grandsons, Griffin and Fisher. Judge and Mrs. Moore are members of Jesus the Good Shepherd Catholic Church, where he is a lector and has served as president of the Parish Council