ULM logo
ULM Water Ski wins Bayou Classic

Published September 25, 2014

The University of Louisiana at Monroe’s National Champion Water Ski team hosted its home tournament Sept. 20, on Bayou DeSiard at the ULM campus. ULM took the title spot in the overall team tournament, edging out in-state rival, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette by 235 points.

Texas A&M, Texas State University, and the University of Texas rounded out the top five.

The competition also carried team and individual categories. ULM’s men’s team took the top spot in the men’s team competition, ahead of ULL, Texas A&M, Texas State, and UT.

In the individual men’s slalom competition, the ULM men dominated again, taking the overall slalom competition with 940 points. Frederick Winter, Adam Pickos, Martin Kolman, and Jake Bridges nabbed the top four spots in the individual slalom rounds.

The ULM men also won the trick competition by 70 points, with Kolman, Pickos, and Michael Stevenson taking three of the top four spots.

Not to be outdone, the ULM men took home the team jump title as well, racking up 730 points with Kolman, Jake Bridges, and Stevenson taking three of the top four spots.

Kolman was the winner of the tournament’s overall men’s skier competition.

The ULM women also took home the team trick and jump competitions. In trick, the women scored 690 points, with Sasha Danisheuskaya and Janice Stevens taking two of the top three spots. 

In the jump competition, Mara Salmina, Danisheuskaya, and Laura Rader took the top three spots to lead the team to the title.

The ULM women had three skiers in the top five of the overall women’s skier competition. In the “B” team competition, the ULM women won the team title, as well as the individual slalom and jump, with Salmina winning slalom, and Stevens winning jump.

The ULM Water Ski team will head to Trilakes in Zachary, Oct. 16-18 to defend their National Championship.

The 2014-2015 ULM Water Ski Team:

Members of the women’s team include: Eleanor Benjamin of London, England; Manon Costard of Marseille, France; Emilia Hoikkanen of Helsinki, Finland; Sasha Danisheuskaya of Minsk, Belarus; Maddison McCammon of Kelowna, Canada; Laura Rader of Villach, Austria; Mara Salmina of Poertscach, Austria; and Janice Stevens of Morrisburg, Ontario, Canada.

The men’s team features: Jake Bridges of Dublin, Ireland; James Earl of Solihul, England; Taylor Horton of Moorpark, Calif.; Martin Kolman of Prague, Czech Republic; Adam Pickos of Santa Rosa beach, Fla.; Frederick Winter of London, England; and Michael Stevenson of Gilbert, Ariz.