ULM logo
ULM Water Ski dominates field for 26th National Championship

Published October 18, 2014

The University of Louisiana at Monroe Water Ski Team won its 26th National Championship this past weekend at Tri-Lakes in Zachary. The team has won four years in a row and 26 titles in the 36 years of the competition’s existence.

According to usawaterski.org, the Warhawks tallied 12,830 points and came in ahead of the second place team, in-state rival, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, with a score of 12,415.

In the Division I field, ULM was joined by the University of Alabama, Arizona State University, University of Cincinnati, Florida Southern College, Grand Valley State University, University of Kansas, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Michigan State University, the Ohio State University, and Rollins College.

Individual medals for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes’ placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events.

The men’s team swept slalom, trick, and jump competitions to place first in men’s team, with a final score of 6,350.

The women’s team placed first in slalom and trick competitions, while placing second in jump, totaling 6,480 points and securing a first-place team finish.

ULM’s Manon Costard won an individual national title in women’s slalom and an overall title.

ULM’s Martin Kolman placed second in the men’s overall skier title. 

The 2014-2015 ULM Water Ski Team:

Members of the women’s team include: Eleanor Benjamin of London, England; Manon Costard of Marseille, France; Emilia Hoikkanen of Helsinki, Finland; Sasha Danisheuskaya of Minsk, Belarus; Maddison McCammon of Kelowna, Canada; Laura Rader of Villach, Austria; Mara Salmina of Poertscach, Austria; and Janice Stevens of Morrisburg, Ontario, Canada.

The men’s team features: Jake Bridges of Dublin, Ireland; James Earl of Solihul, England; Taylor Horton of Moorpark, California; Martin Kolman of Prague, Czech Republic; and Michael Stevenson of Gilbert, Arizona.