ULM logo
ULM’s 6th Annual Women’s Symposium Wednesday, March 16

Published March 14, 2022



Want to go?

WHAT: Women’s Symposium

WHEN: 12-5 p.m., Wednesday, March 16

WHERE: Bayou Pointe

COST: Free for ULM students, $25 for faculty, staff, and active alumni, and $40 for the community

TICKETS: Women's Symposium 2022 - University of Louisiana Monroe Alumni Association


The University of Louisiana Monroe Women’s Symposium partners with the ULM Alumni Association to host the 6th Annual Women’s Symposium on Wednesday, March 16, from noon-5 p.m. at Bayou Pointe Event Center.

The Women’s Symposium highlights women who make the Northeast Louisiana community stronger.

The symposium is open to everyone. Admission is free for ULM students with ID, ULM faculty, staff, and active alumni tickets are $25, and community members tickets are $40.

To register, visit Women's Symposium 2022 - University of Louisiana Monroe Alumni Association.

The keynote speaker is Leslie Durham, the Alternate Federal Co-Chairwoman for the Delta Regional Authority, appointed by President Joe Biden. Born and reared in Tensas Parish, since January 2016, Durham has served as Gov. John Bel Edwards’s DRA Designee. Edwards appointed Durham to serve on the following: Broadband for Everyone in Louisiana Commission, chairperson, Rural Water Infrastructure Committee, chairperson, Rural Revitalization Commission, 4.9 GHz Spectrum Task Force, Jobs for American Graduates Louisiana Board of Directors, and Delta Agriculture Research and Sustainability District.

During the symposium, there will be an awards ceremony. The 2022 award and scholarship winners include:

  • Legacy Award – Dr. Gwenn Jackson

  • Lisa Miller Distinguished Leader Award – Ashley Hubenthal

  • Kristin Chandler Rising Professional Award – Maggie Generoso

  • Vanguard Award – Monroe Mayor Friday Ellis

  • Emerging Student Leader Scholarship – Brook Little

  • Empowering Student Leader Scholarship – Anna Grigsby


For more information, contact Leigh Hersey, Ph.D., Women’s Symposium chair, at hersey@ulm.edu.